Pages

Go to Haute Lacquer home page Go to Haute Lacquer about me page Go to Haute Lacquer contact page Go to Haute Lacquer nail polish collection page Go to Haute Lacquer sponsorship page
Showing posts with label Review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Review. Show all posts

8/25/13

Midnight Velvet m.vie Mineral Makeup Review and $50 GIVEAWAY!

I'm finally back! I apologize for the delay in posts. It seems like every year, the weeks leading up to school mess up my mojo. And then I got sidetracked by a new job (my first job by the way!) but I'm finally catching up!

Today I'm reviewing a new to me brand, m.vie from Midnight Velvet. After my first makeup review I got a great response so I'm excited to post more for you guys.


For this look I used the m.vie Tangerine Dream Mineral Gem Trio loose pigments. I fully expected to have to pack these on but a little goes a very long way. I also used NYX Eyeshadow Base to help the pigments stick.
*Image credit*
Go-Go Gold (the gold) is my favorite. It applies so vibrant and beautiful. It's a gorgeous antique gold. Savvy Saffron (the bronze-y color) is more orange in real life but still wearable. And finally Green Light, my second favorite, is a light mossy green. It's very flattering and wearable as well.


Along with the pigments, I used my first gold eyeliner--the m.vie Waterproof Eye Liner in Gold Shimmer. This gold is even prettier than Go-Go Gold (if that is possible). This is great on the water liner and didn't rub off one bit. I also like the convenience of the attached smudger.

Click below to keep reading and enter the $50 GIVEAWAY!

7/13/13

Nautical Stormy Seas


I'm back with a nail art design I have had planned in my head for the longest, looooongest time. 

This is my first time using Born Pretty Store's water decals but I was very pleased with them. They actually surprised me because I wasn't sure I would like them. 


These decals work great for nail art! I don't know about you but I couldn't do this design without the decals.
When I'm shopping for nail stickers/decals the most important thing to me is that they don't just look like a photo printed on your nails. And in real life these blend perfectly!
You can purchase these water decals for $2.86 at Born Pretty Store using my coupon code  GFL91 for 10% off your purchase plus free shipping.
For this manicure I used China Glaze Sea Spray, China Glaze First Mate, and CCUK Midnight Blue for the gradient background. I used the Compass Chain Anchor Pattern water decals for the nautical print. I found that the directions were helpful but not specific so below I've written out exactly how I applied them. 

EDIT: I wore these decals in this manicure for almost four days and had no problem with the decals coming off, lifting,fading, etc.  

How to Apply Born Pretty Store's Water Decals
1. Paint your base color and let it dry completely.
2. Fill a cup/bowl/tub with room temp. water.
3. After choosing which design you want to use, cut it out and dip it into the water for about 15 seconds. 
4. After it's been soaked in the water the design itself should literally slide off the white paper (if this doesn't happen, dip it back in the water). Once it slides off apply the design to your nail.
5. Wipe off any water excess and use a blow dryer on low setting to set the decal. Do this for about 8-15 seconds.
6. Apply top coat to your nail and blow dry again for about 8-15 seconds and you're done!
*TIP: Do this one nail at a time.


What do you think about water decals? Have you ever tried any? Let me know below!


6/19/13

Bohemian Ikat Nail Art | Feat. Indica Jewelry


Happy Hump Day! Which, by the way, I really thought today was Tuesday and I was literally surprised when I saw that it wasn't. I am very clearly losing my mind.

Today's post features a gorgeous hand chain from Indica Jewelry on Etsy. This is a new Etsy shop that sells everything from bracelets, to necklaces, to toe rings to earrings. And the owner, Robine, is so sweet!

My inspiration for this design came from the hand chain itself. As soon as I looked at it, it reminded me of something vintage/bohemian so I had to do my nails to match.
For this manicure I used Zoya Bevin as the base. This was my first time attempting Ikat print so I followed this tutorial by Phoenix Beauty Lounge. The colors I used were Zoya Jacqueline (nude) and Sally Hansen Chartreuse Chase (green that looks like yellow). The black is acrylic paint. 

Now you guys have to give me some credit for these creative pictures you're about to see...

5/24/13

Mosaic Tiles| Shimmer Polish Nail Art


I remember when I was little every Sunday my mom would take us to church. Our church as a French/Creole church and at the time I couldn't understand a thing they were saying. The entire time I just stared at the pretty stained glass windows surrounding us and admired them. As a little girl, this seriously fascinated me!

Today's design reminds me of the stained glass windows. Although not exact, they take me back a little!

I decided to try this design on naked nails, with no base. I'm not feeling it so much but I think it's an...interesting look.
Below is this manicure before top coat. The glitters dry this matte! (Black is acrylic paint).
For this manicure I used Shimmer Polish Eva (red) and Shimmer Polish Cristina (blue) for the glitter "tiles". As I said, there is no base used in this mani. I started off with acrylic paint and used it to draw sections in the nail. I then filled random "tiles" in with the two Shimmer Polish polishes.


Now let's take a look at the two glitters on their own! They have such a unique, matte finish that I love.

Shimmer Polish Eva is a beeeeautiful cranberry red glitter. This has a nice balance of silver and darker/lighter  red glitters throughout. Without topcoat it almost looks like a textured finish, with topcoat it GLOWS! 2 coats, easy application.


Shimmer Polish Cristina is a turquoise-blue-clear base packed with turquoise, red, and darker teal glitters. Gorgeous in 3 coats. This one also dries matte but is pretty with or without topcoat!


Shimmer Polish retails from $10.00-$12.00 ($10 for top coats) and can be purchased on Etsy and found on Facebook, and their website.

P.S. Follow me on bloglovin! In case Google Friend Connect gets discontinued, you'll be able to keep up with my latest posts!

4/30/13

Zoya Irresistible Summer 2013 Collection Swatches and Review

As promised, today I have the Zoya Irresistible Summer 2013 Collection to show you. Last week I created a simple, floral design using these gorgeous colors and I loved it! I think this is one of my favorite Zoya collections ever. 

All of these polishes are shown with two coats and no topcoat.

One of my favorites in the collection, Tinsley, is a rosy pink metallic foil packed with gold shimmer. This applied so ridiculously smoothly. 

I would describe Kerry as a sunflower yellow-gold color. This has the same metallic foil finish as the other polishes in this collection, but no added shimmer.

Zoya Amy is a vivid orange metallic packed with gold and orange shimmer. If this could get any prettier I think I would die. 

Zoya Ricki is an apple green metallic with mostly silver and some gold shimmer packed in. I love the mix of gold and silver shimmer in this polish.

Zoya Hazel is a pretty slate blue metallic with gold shimmer. Not only is this one of my favorites but I'm also obsessed with the name! The formula on this one was a little thick but not hard to work with.

Zoya Bobbi is a red metallic foil with mainly silver and some gold and silver shimmer. As gorgeous as the color is in this picture is it's not quite this bright in person. Instead it is a true red, similar to the bottle you see above. It also does not have visible magenta shimmer as the picture suggests. 


Overall, I am 100% pleased with this collection. It is on point! I absolutely love the easy formulas and nice range of colors. Even when all the colors have the same finish, Zoya manages to give us diversity within the collection. I've seen many swatches of these polishes and it seems to be so flattering to all skin tones! Trust me, you guys are going to want these colors. My favorites are Amy, Hazel, and Tinsley.

Zoya's Irresistible Collection is available now on Zoya.com and retails at $8/bottle.

Find me on...Facebook | Twitter | Bloglovin' | Instagram

4/22/13

Hawaiian Floral | Zoya Stunning Summer 2013 Collection Nail Art, Swatches, and Review


When the press release came out for the Zoya Stunning Collection, I already knew exactly what design I wanted to create with these beautiful creams! The Stunning Collection really is stunning...sorry, I just had to. 

For this manicure I used Zoya Rocky as the blue base. I outlined each nail (but not the tips) with a thin nail art brush and black acrylic paint. Using the same nail art brush (just cleaned off) and Zoya Micky I began drawing the floral details. I used a dotting tool and Zoya Thandie for the polka dots and other orange details. 

Keep reading for swatches/review of the entire collection!

4/11/13

Robotic Lines | Featuring Bondi NYC Nail Polish and Review

Press Sample
Good morning y'all!

This design reminds me of Transformers for some reason. Bumblebee to be exact. Of course the yellow but there's more about it that I can't figure out. It doesn't bother me though, Bumblebee is my favorite anyway!

Today's design features a brand new nail polish brand, Bondi New York. More information on Bondi New York, including where to purchase, can be found at the end of this post.

If you really squint your eyes, you'll see that there's actually two different yellow polishes in this design. I promise it's more of a contrast in real life!
I love the nail polish bottle; the "bondi" letters are written so cute! It's the smallest details that make the bottle appear much nicer and more appealing.
For this manicure I used Bondi NYCBrick Road (see swatch below) as the yellow cream base. Then I drew the black border around each nail, followed by the thick vertical stripe down my nail. Afterwards, I created a thin, diagonal line across one side of the vertical stripe. I filled in one of those halves with Barielle Soul-er Powered (again, you'll have to squint those eyes!).


As I said before, Bondi NYC is a new nail polish brand. Let's take a closer look at this brand, shall we? 

4/1/13

3 Easy Beginner Nail Art Designs for Prom


Prom season is here and today I want to share with you three quick and easy designs that anyone can recreate. I know this post is a little late for some but you can also rock these designs in other variations any time of the year!

I promise this is easier than it looks! If you're just starting out with nail art and are not comfortable with drawing letters, skip the black letters and just use any dotting tool to create the word "PROM" with polka dots.

Here is a quick tutorial on how I achieved this look:

2/28/13

Techno Edges | Shimmer Polish Nail Art

I hope y'all aren't getting tired of seeing glitter around here!

I'm pretty much a Shimmer Polish fan for life now, Jennifer has got to be my favorite so far. So beautiful and different from your typical indie polish.


Shimmer Polish Jennifer works amazing as a base for nail art. *wink* *wink*


For this manicure I used Shimmer Polish Jennifer as the glittery base. After allowing that to dry some I created the "square edges" with a thin nail art brush and black acrylic paint. After drawing the lines I used a thick coat of top coat to seal in this design!


Of course I had to finish this post with a swatch of the ridiculously gorgeous Jennifer on it's own. When I opened up my Shimmer Polish package this is one polish that really stood out to me. The mix of small blue/periwinkle glitters with the accents of red, purple, orange, and gold is divine! This is glitter suspended in a clear base so I used three coats for this picture.

Shimmer Polish retails from $10.00-$12.00 ($10 for top coats) and can be purchased on Etsy and found on Facebook, their website, and recently Twitter.

P.S. Don't forget to enter my giveaway!
*Polish provided for review

2/25/13

Dazzling Bricks | Shimmer Polish Nail Art

It was like Christmas came early when I received this amazing package from Shimmer Polish! She was kind enough (very kind, in fact!) to send me some of her creations to showcase on my blog. What better way to do that than with nail art?

I quickly started brainstorming designs and when I thought of a "bricks" design, the color Trisha instantly jumped into my mind!


I absolutely adore the matte effect in this design! It really works great with the glitters in Trisha.


And for the Curious George in you, here's what it looked like glossy...


For this manicure I used Shimmer Polish Trisha as the glitter base. I then created the brick design using a nail art brush and black acrylic paint. I curved the sharp edges to make it look more like brick. Added a coat of Essie Matte About You Top Coat and was done!


Can we just take a moment to appreciate the beauty that is Shimmer Polish Trisha? This is a stunning orange-y red with small gold, red, orange, pink, purple, and blue round glitters. I got full coverage with three easy coats. 

LOVE.


Shimmer Polish retails from $10.00-$12.00 ($10 for top coats) and can be purchased on Etsy and found on Facebook, and their website.

P.S. Don't forget to enter my giveaway!
*Polish provided for review

2/15/13

Chevy | Featuring Laquerlicious Pebble Stone

Good morning!

Today is the last day of Laquerlicious nail designs. So far I've done a V-Day design, a Geometric design, and now a Chevron design right here on this post. This one is my favorite design of the three! 

On top of the Laquerlicious designs and swatches this week, I am hosting a giveaway where a lucky follower will win three mini polishes from Laquerlicious, you can enter here

For this manicure I used Laquerlicious Pebble Stone layered over Zoya Monica as the base. Then I carefully drew the chevron stripes, one at a time. For a more interesting look I created three chevron stripes on the middle and ring fingers and only two on the index and pinky fingers. For an extra accent I created horizontal stripes across the index finger. All these stripes were created using Wet N Wild Bite the Bullet

The base of this mani, Laquerlicious Pebble Stone, kind of reminds me of a galaxy, no?
Laquerlicious Pebble Stone is a multicolored small glitter suspended in a dark purple--almost black--jelly base. This is two coats layered over Zoya Monica. This is another one of those colors that is just "meh" in the bottle but then transforms on your nails! So unique and pretty! This is a semi-hungry glitter though so I used two thick coats of topcoat for these swatches and the above design.

Pictures are just not doing this polish justice, the colors are much more vivid in real life! Love.

Laquerlicious retails for $8.50-$15.00 (depending on what type of nail polish) and can be purchased on Etsy and found on TwitterFacebook, and Instagram

*Polishes sent for review

Disqus for Haute Lacquer